Pathfinding!

Seventeen months after my last post — and nearly two full years since I declared myself done with old-school roleplaying — Andrew asserts that he’d like to run the Rise of the Runelords campaign using Pathfinder.

And so this blog lurches back to life and gets a new header and a new coat of background paint.

This system and this campaign is about as old-school as it gets, so we’ll see how it goes. For those who don’t know, Pathfinder is essentially a revised edition of Dungeons & Dragons version 3.5, which forked from the main branch when Wizards of the Coast embarked on that whole, unfortunate 4th Edition business. Pathfinder seems to have thrived while the official game failed to impress, and so the tail wags the dog, with Paizo leading the charge with the rebadged version of the “old” game while the WotC boys go back to the drawing board for D&D Next.”

I gave 4th Edition D&D a good shot in it’s “Essentials” form and am not interested in trekking that path again, but I don’t mind going back to the future … I played a bit of D&D 3.5 in the 1990s and I trust the rules will come back to me.

Pathfinder is a far chunkier RPG than I would pick for myself at this time in my gaming life, but Andrew has flushed a pile of cash into books, figures, and Dwarven Forge Kickstarter pledges so it is the least I can do to show up and roll a D20. What the heck … I go into this with an open mind and an open heart.

I will post here from time to time as I grapple with the rules and eventually play the game. First up will be character creation, which I expect we will attempt to handle away from the table, to preserve our first night for pulse-pounding free actions and attacks of opportunity!

Here we go!

Meanwhile, what of poor Irv, caught up in Regina intrigue? I dunno. It’s been a year-and-a-half since my last post, so there’s little urgency in returning to my solo, blog-based Traveller game. But as the unexpected resurrection of Goblin Soup attests, nothing in this crazy, mixed-up RPG blogging world is ever completely dead. Stay tuned.

But for now, let’s find some paths!

Rise of the Runelords!

About Paul O'Connor

Revelations and retro-reviews from a world where it is always 1978, published once a month or so at www.longboxgraveyard.com!
This entry was posted in Pathfinder. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pathfinding!

  1. “17 months after my last post…” which explains why Irv hasn’t been seen for a while…

Leave a Reply

